There are five categories of membership, which include Associate Members, Juried Members, Members of Merit, Members of Excellence and Honorary Members. Juried, Merit and Excellence categories are attained by demonstrating varying degrees of excellence in portraiture and service to the organization. Honorary Members are usually members who have attained at least Juried status and now serve in an advisory capacity. Members at any level are eligible to vote as a member of the Corporation.


Descriptions of the membership categories

Associate Members:

Anyone interested in portraiture is eligible to apply for membership at this initial level. They remain in this membership category until they fulfill the qualifications for Juried Membership

Juried Members:

Those members who have been juried into three public PSA exhibitions with three different works and who have served for at least two calendar years as a volunteer on a committee. At such time as these qualifications are met, they may apply for Juried Member status. Juried Members have earned the right to use their membership for promotional purposes and are listed on our website list of members.

Members of Merit:

Members of Merit are to be chosen from Juried Members who submit samples of their work to a special jury of three nationally-known portrait artists. This opportunity is offered periodically or every two years. Each artist is judged on his or her own merit and not in competition with other entrants. Judging is based on a 10 point grading system in eleven categories.

Members of Excellence:

Members of Excellence are to be chosen from Juried Members and Members of Merit in the same manner as Members of Merit are chosen, but with higher standards of selection.

Honorary Members:

Honorary Membership is only awarded under special circumstances. Most Honorary Members serve in an advisory capacity.